CMPA names new Board of Directors for 2019-2021 term

TORONTO, September 25, 2019 – This afternoon, at its annual general meeting in Toronto, the Canadian Media Producers Association unveiled its new Board of Directors for the 2019-2021 term. At the meeting it was also announced that Shaftesbury SVP Scott Garvie was re-elected CMPA Board Chair, a position he has held since June 2016.

“It’s an honor to be selected for this role and to again have the opportunity to lead such an accomplished group,” noted Garvie. “I’m particularly proud that the composition of our Board reflects our recent renewal and diversification efforts, as illustrated by the six new board members joining us this term, and the fact that over 50 per cent of our directors are women. I hope the CMPA can continue to lead by example as we keep trying to improve the diversity, inclusion and transparency reflected in our industry.”

“As we await the outcome of the federal election and the pending report from the Broadcasting and Telecommunications Legislative Review panel, Scott’s continued leadership will ensure our organization remains focused on engaging with our members, and working to build a strong future for independent producers and Canada’s entire production sector,” added CMPA President and CEO Reynolds Mastin.

The 2019-2021 term will see Kim Todd (Original Pictures) and Erin Haskett (Lark Productions) serve as the CMPA’s Co-Vice-Chairs. Mark Bishop (marblemedia) and Anne Loi (WildBrain) will serve as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively, and Ira Levy (Breakthrough Entertainment) will reassume the role of Director Emeritus.

2019-2021 CMPA Board of Directors

Brian Hamilton (Omnifilm Entertainment)
Erin Haskett (Lark Productions)
Steven Thibault (BRON Studios)
Catherine Winder (Wind Sun Sky Entertainment)

Tom Cox (SEVEN24 Films)

Kyle Irving (Eagle Vision)

Mark Bishop (marblemedia)
Paul Bronfman (Comweb Group)
Vince Commisso (9 Story Media Group)
Lauren Corber (LoCo Motion Pictures)
Sari Friedland (Factory Films)
Scott Garvie (Shaftesbury/Smokebomb)
Ira Levy (Breakthrough Entertainment)
Anne Loi (WildBrain)
Christina Piovesan (First Generation Films)
Vanessa Steinmetz (Entertainment One)
Kim Todd (Original Pictures)

Ina Fichman (Intuitive Pictures)
Josette Normandeau (Ideacom international)
Aren Prupas (Muse Entertainment)
Jeremy Spry

Marc Almon (Holdfast Pictures)
Ann Bernier (Vertical Productions)
Mary Sexton (Rink Rat Productions)
Allison White (Sara Fost Pictures)